| Made for | Families, from bedtime stories to a child reading on their own; teachers and homeschoolers | Families, educators and care teams | Families and classrooms | Parents, at bedtime | Parents, authors and educators | Creators of all kinds; storybooks are one of its four tools |
| Where it runs | Any phone, tablet or computer, in the browser; add it to the home screen like an app, nothing to download | A browser on a phone, tablet or computer | Not described on its site | An app to download for iOS or Android | Not described on its site | The web, iOS and Android, its site lists |
| Ages | 2 to 12 | 10 and under | 3 to 12 | All ages, its FAQ says | Its story browser groups stories from 2–3 years to 12+ | You set it in your prompt |
| Reading level | Set by age, or Kid Reads: 4 phonics levels aligned to UFLI Foundations (lessons 1–98), with a slider for the exact lesson | You choose a reading age | Its site says the language matches the child’s reading level | Its FAQ says stories can match a child’s age, interests and reading level | Not described on its site | You set it in your prompt |
| Pictures in a story | A picture for every scene of a picture book: you choose how many, 3 to 30 (10 by default); chapter books have pictures in every chapter | Illustrated; how many is not described on its site | A picture on every page, its site says | Illustrated; how many is not described on its site | 5 in every story, its pricing page says | Illustrated storybooks; how many is not described on its site |
| Same character in later stories | Yes: saved characters keep the same face, colors and outfit in every picture and every story | Yes: saved characters, made from words or a child’s drawing, return in new stories | Unlimited custom characters; keeping their look from story to story is not described on its site | Saved profiles; whether characters keep their look is not described on its site | Its pricing page promises consistent character art across every adventure | Consistent within a book; across books is not described on its site |
| Chapter books | Yes, ages 5 to 12, one chapter at a time, continued as a series (Creator, Publisher) | Not described on its site | Up to 6 chapters a story on its lowest plan, more on higher plans | Not described on its site | Not described on its site | Not described on its site |
| Choose-your-own-adventure | Yes (Token packs, Creator, Publisher) | Not described on its site | Not described on its site | Not described on its site | Not described on its site | Not described on its site |
| Narration | The app reads every story aloud in a choice of voices, offline too (Creator, Publisher); download it as MP3s for other devices, such as a Yoto player (Publisher) | Narration and read-along, with tap-a-word meanings | Narration, and voice cloning on higher plans | Stories can be turned into audiobooks | Not described on its site | Not described on its site for storybooks |
| Print and keep | Word and PDF on every plan; Amazon KDP print files and coloring pages (Creator, Publisher) | Not described on its site | Printed books through its print-on-demand service | Not described on its site | Pop-up books: 1, 3 or 10 a month, by plan | PDF, and print-ready files for Amazon KDP |
| Languages | English, French and Spanish, on every plan | A choice of languages; a story can be translated | Not described on its site | 10 | Several: its story browser lists Arabic, Bengali, English, French, German and Portuguese | Not described on its site |
| Try it free | 5 stories a month, free forever, no credit card | Two stories and two characters for a new account | A free account; making stories needs a paid plan | The first stories are free | A free first story, its site says; no free plan on its pricing page | Free to start; you pay for what you make |
| Price | Creator $9.99 CAD a month, unlimited stories | From US$14.99 a month; Family US$24.99 a month, for six adults | $7, $15 or $29 a month at its current offer (was $9, $20 and $40), for 40 to 90 stories; currency not stated | A small fee per story after the free ones; the amount is not on its site | $4.99, $9.99 or $19.99 a month for unlimited stories; currency not stated | Pay as you go: add $10, $20 or $50 to a wallet; no subscription |